Telling a story via wireless network SSIDs

by Priya Chandra

I got this idea from a Melbourne Writer’s Festival idea: http://www.springwise.com/media_publishing/melbourne-festival-wireless-routers-launch-literary-genre.

They had six wireless routers that told a short (almost haiku like) story via the SSID (name) of the router. Check the link out for a cool video on how it worked.

So, I decided to do my own version – a different part of the story every day on my own home wireless network. I know people around me can see my network name, because I see their names – hello there GETUROWNINT3ERNET (I always imagine this person as a slightly grumpy person who’s had their wireless network attacked once too often) – so hopefully they’ll get a bit of a laugh out of it, if they work out what’s going on.

This is the story I decided to tell – it is a very famous book and movie (well movie more than book).

Police issue alert

For girl and dog

Wanted for

2 murders

And destroying property

Let me know in the comments what movie/book you think I might be referencing here. And if anyone’s got any bright takes on classic stories, let me know and I’ll issue them via my wireless SSID.

 

 

2 Comments to “Telling a story via wireless network SSIDs”

  1. We can’t figure it out….even (on Tim’s advice!!) tried to google the answer…what is the movie/book?!

    • heh heh. The movie is “The Wizard of oz!” This quote might be a better one to describe the movie in fact: “Transported to a surreal landscape, a young girl kills the first person she meets and then teams up with three strangers to kill again.” Makes one think about the movie in a completely different way doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

