Craft projects – success and failure

by Priya Chandra

So I’ve been feeling a bit crafty lately and decided to do something I’ve been wanting to do for ages – make a standing desk.

There’s heaps of research about on how standing is better for you than sitting (to a certain degree, obviously standing on your feet for 12 hours a day is not good either, but in moderation it is better than sitting for 12 hours) and I know that when I was on the USS Cleveland (this one time, in Band Camp) I certainly felt better if I was able to stand to do my laptop based work.

So anyway I’ve been putting it off because of cost and laziness and today I decided to just go ahead and do it by just putting a small coffee table on our dining table. I have to work at the dining table since I don’t get internet connection in the lovely study (I think it is a ploy by the DM to ensure he gets the study all to himself). Putting the coffee table on the dining table makes sense – it is the perfect height and it is portable so when it comes time to eat dinner it is easy to move out of the way (unless of course we decide to eat in front of the T.V on the sofa, like two old people, which we never do of course.)

And here’s the finished product:

standing desk arrangement

By the way did you see the cream/beige object on the laptop? That is my failed craft project – a knitted toy for the cats.

It was meant to be something that they could really get their claws into, by scratching at it and doing bunny kicks against it for fun. I got the idea from an Etsy shop but it has been a complete failure. I even put catnip in it to try and encourage them to take an interest in the thing but no dice.

I’ll keep trying but I’m not hopeful I must say. Oh well you can’t win them all I guess.

 

4 Comments to “Craft projects – success and failure”

  1. If I am standing up at my desk it is usually because I am really busy and running between the printer and my 2nd work station etc. I definately feel less frantic being able to sit down. And as I don’t work for myself, I don’t feel so inclined to maximise productivity and am happy to sit down.

  2. p.s. poor cats…they probably have too many other expensive store bought toys to be interested in your lovingly hand crafted toy. Much like people then really.

    • hah, expensive cat toys! They wish! We buy them one in a blue moon and then they destroy them in a heartbeat. Hence the desire to create more sturdy toys. Oh well, back to the drawing board I guess.

  3. I love the standing desk..they’re becoming more popular at the place I used to work at!! My desk is currently my lap- also made by myself…ok by my parents in fact!!

Leave a Reply

