Walking in Heels for a good cause – not just because my legs look good in them!

by Priya Chandra

So next week (12th March) I start the Care Australia “Walk in Her Shoes” challenge, where participants sign up to walk 10,000 steps a day and fundraise for Care projects around the world, but mainly in Africa.

I’m looking forward to it, not least because I intend to take the opportunity to walk around parts of Melbourne that I have not yet been to. One of the disadvantages of working from home is that I need to make the time to walk – it is not as simple as parking a bit further away, or getting off the tram one stop earlier.

And, I’m going to be doing it all in heels – no comfortable walking pants or sensible sandshoes for me, no thank you. I am going to be wearing an (old) pair of heels and the appropriate clothing for the heels.

My first trip next week is going to be a walk from my place to the house used in Miss Fishers’ Murder Mysteries – according to Google maps it is only 3 km away from my place so I’ll probably have to walk there and back to get my 10,000 steps up. But it will be fun I’m sure. I am really enjoying that t.v show and it will be nice to see the house they used in the show up close and personal so to speak.

shoes and a pedometer for my Walk in her Shoes challenge

These are the shoes and the pedometer I’ll be using for the challenge – shoes from Diana Ferrari and pedometer from Aussie Fit. Thanks for the unofficial sponsorship guys!

And if you’d like to donate, my fundraising page is here: http://walkinhershoes.org.au/priya_chandra

Tags:

One Trackback to “Walking in Heels for a good cause – not just because my legs look good in them!”

Leave a Reply

