Days 4 and 5 – Where Priya battles rain, parking woes and more rain

by Priya Chandra

Ahh Thursday and Friday (or day 4 and 5 of my self-imposed torture regime as I’ve taken to thinking of them) – what wonderful days they were – if you’re a duck or someone with a garden.

For the rest of us, who don’t enjoy walking in the rain, it was a bit of a pain trying to fit in 10,000 steps each day. But I did it – because I’m nothing if not creative and determined to finish things that I start.

Thursday

This was quite a busy day as well as being quite rainy so I was quite concerned about fitting in the 10,000 steps. Luckily I had a teaching engagement at Deakin University in Burwood, Melbourne.

For those of you not familiar with this fine establishment it is very large and there is very little parking available either on campus or in the side streets surrounding it. I’d been warned by my contact at the University that this was the case and I blithely ignored him. 20 minutes of searching later I was convinced I would never find a car spot – seriously this was worse than Russell Offices in Canberra and I thought that was bad.

Anyway I finally managed to find a spot and set off walking – luckily the rain had stopped as it was a good 15 minutes (at the fastest pace I could muster) to get from the car to the lecture theatre.

All this aside, the distance was actually really good as I managed to get 6,000 steps up during my time at Deakin.

Later that day

So how did I get my remaining 4,000 steps completed given that Melbourne experienced a fantastic thunder storm later that day and I had to work at Government House? Well, the House (which is absolutely beautiful) is quite large and in the course of a 3 hour event I managed to walk over 4,000 steps.

The shoes weren’t quite ‘high heels’ but they certainly weren’t flats or sneakers either and believe me after 3 hours they are just as uncomfortable as my regular heels – in fact they are a lot worse.

Friday

Friday was really quite rainy and I was not at all inclined to leave the house – except to get my coffee of course, which is something that must be done regardless of the weather.

So, what did I do? Well I ran a few errands in between the rain and then I went all 1950s, donning my high heels and an appropriate dress to clean and tidy the house. I did not go quite as far as putting on a full face of make up though!

I still had a few steps at the end of all of that so if you can, picture me striding up and down my house and up and down the stairs with ABBA (yes I’m a dork, we all know that let’s move on shall we?) playing in the background. The cats thought it was a lot of fun to trail after me and sit on the stairs watching me until a tail got in the way of a foot.

Then it was less fun and they both harrumphed off to their beds for some sleep time.

I managed to do it though – 10,000 odd steps achieved, even though it was mostly indoors.

Thank you

Thank you to every one who has donated so far – the money raised so far:

  • can provide a girl with an education scholarship that includes uniforms, travel costs and food for one year, so she can stay in school longer and
  • can provide a simple rope water pump and maintenance training for a community, to reduce time taken walking for water.

How cool is that?

If you haven’t yet donated there’s still plenty of time – donations very gratefully accepted at this website: http://walkinhershoes.org.au/priya_chandra

Tags:

One Comment to “Days 4 and 5 – Where Priya battles rain, parking woes and more rain”

  1. Badly planned universities in the suburbs…I remember them well. But yay for making all the steps despite the rain!!

Leave a Reply

