The last 2 days – where Priya wait for it

by Priya Chandra

The weather for the final two days of my Walk in Her Shoes challenge for Care Australia was lovely which was good – I don’t think I could have handled another 2 days of walking up and down inside my house!

I did not have a particular place that I wanted to walk so I took the opportunity to walk through my local neighbourhood on both days. It is really quite a nice place to walk, particularly through the area called the Stock Route.

This area is tucked between the two suburbs of Flemington and Kensington and is what remains of the cattle yards and route taken to transport cattle to market. Nowadays it is very quiet, away from traffic and noise and the perfect place to go for a walk.

I went all the way to the Maribyrong River and walked along the edge of the famous Flemington Racecourse – no horse racing at this time of the year obviously so a good time to go there.

I’m amazed at how well my feet have held up during this week – as I said in my first post 10,000 steps is a lot further than I thought. I was expecting blisters and some rubbing but apart from sore ankles really I’ve done ok.

The four different shoes I used

I do want to keep on walking 10,000 steps a day simply for fitness reasons but from now on I’m going to be doing it in more sensible shoes – i.e sneakers!

Thank you again

Thank you again to everyone who has donated to this cause, provided me with support and kept me going for the week.

You all totally rock. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

If you have not yet donated, there’s a small window of opportunity available where you can still help provide clean water, education and improved living standards to women and girls in Africa – race on over to http://walkinhershoes.org.au/priya_chandra.

The end

And I'm done

Tags:

2 Comments to “The last 2 days – where Priya wait for it”

  1. I love the last photo Priya. Sleeping beauty.

  2. Whoa what a week! I was tired just reading about it. Well done!

Leave a Reply

